Grains of Canada

General descriptions of grain are no longer available

This website no longer provides general descriptions of grains regulated under the Canada Grain Act or grains that are grown in Canada but are not regulated, for example, canary seed, solin, quinoa, spelt and KAMUT® khorasan wheat.

Many kinds of grain are grown in Canada. The Canadian Grain Commission regulates the handling of specific types of grains in Canada.

The following links pertain to our regulatory authority, the regulated grains, and the standards and specifications for grain grades.